F.A.Q.

Travelplans

  • Where are you going?
    Well basically everywhere. However, I will start going towards Africa, then Asia, Oceania, South America and North America. For a more detailed route, see https://www.basidsinga.com/round-the-world/campaign-plan/
  • How long will you be on the road?
    This is not sure, but if everything goes well it will be between 4 and 6 years. Depending on how much headwind I will get. 
  • What’s your philosophy?
    My plan is not to travel as fast as possible to a certain destination. My goal is to enjoy different areas as long as I think is necessary. I’m not even sure if I will finish the trip. I might come back in 3 months, or a year. I’m not going to force myself doing something I don’t like to do. Currently the idea of this trip is in my head, and I’m going for it. If I change my mind on the road, then that’s how it is. 
    I would like to see many different parts of the world. Gaining diverse experience is what I’m looking for to fill my thoughts about philosophical matters. One of my dreams is to write a book.

Finance

  • How will you maintain yourself?
    I saved some money to last for at least one or two years. In the mean time, I hope to build up a list of people who financially support me on Patreon.com (see profile page www.patreon.com/basidsinga). My current plan is to life on $5,- per day, so I will need $150,- per month to actually maintain myself. 
  • Where will you sleep?
    I will bring a tent with me which I can use to camp in the wild. Otherwise I will use Couchsurfing or Warmshowers.

Personal

  • How old are you?
    I am born in September 1991, so you can calculate it yourself 😉
  • Did you do previous trips?
    Yes, in 2014 I lived in New Zealand for 6 months for an internship. In 2015 I backpacked the Silk Route in Georgia, Azerbaijan, Iran, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Kazakhstan. In 2016 I cycled from Deventer to Glasgow and back. In 2018 I cycled around the Wadden Islands in the North of the Netherlands.
  • What’s your background?
    I studied Civil Engineering and I worked as a structural engineer for 3 years. 

Equipment